Palindromes

Imagine if we read English from right to left. “This sentence would look like” ekil kool dlouw ecnetnes sihT. 

That’s crazy right? I mean,  ?thgir yzarc s’tahT 

You bored? I mean,  ?derob uoY

Yawn a more Roman way. Seriously.

Whoops. I forgot!

YawnamoreRomanway.

yawnamoReromanway. 

STOP!

I did, did I? Miss something, I mean. Other than those spaces. That last reversed sentence looks awfully familiar…

That sentence is called a palindrome. It spells the same forward and backward. Racecar, Hannah, Kayak, and O gnats, tango! Are all palindromes. Is there much else to say?

Some famous palindromes are:

‘A man, a plan, a canal, Panama’ which refers to Theodore Roosevelt. It is also the name of a book! 

‘Able was I ere I saw Elba’ which refers to when Napoleon first saw the island Elba, where he was exiled. 

Here is a short story about palindromes. Read it, it’s really good. 

Straw? No, too stupid a fad. I put soot on warts. 

Tiffany

Leave a Reply

