All About Hexaflexagons

We have mentioned hexaflexagons many times. Someone out there must be wondering what they are!

It’s probably a better idea to go to our other website for info about Hexaflexagons, because it’s for the HexaflexaCommittee.http://hexaflexa.wordpress.com

If you don’t want to see the other site, well, this isn’t exactly an easy topic to write about, but… I’ll give it a try.

Hexaflexagons are really just little (or big)  paper hexagons, but folded in a really weird way. The way the sides overlap eachother makes it so when you pinch together the corners… the center opens up, revealing a third or more side to a shape that should only have two. You can really see this if you color each side. The third side, if you look closely, is hidden where the paper overlaps itself. I’ll make a post later showing all about how trihexaflexagons work.
Speaking of tri-hexaflexagons, there are three main types of hexaflexagons, and plenty of others that are only achievable by the true hexaflexing masters (I’m not really, I can’t even make a six-sided one, let alone a thirty-six sided one!).

The most common type of hexaflexagon is the Trihexaflexagon. This guy only has three sides, and can be made quickly and easily.

The second type of hexaflexagon is the Hexahexaflexagon. It has six sides, and should take medium skill to make, so I guess I’m still a beginner. Tiffany has tried to teach me multiple times, but I always fail. Don’t judge. I know more about flexagons than most.

The weirdest type is the 3-D Hexaflexagon. It has volume, unlike the other hexaflexagons (they have volume too, but just bear with me), and four sides. WHAT? Yeah, I don’t get it either.

That’s all for now. This is not the last you will hear about hexaflexagons. Just believe me. It’s not.

-Eleanor

The person who spread knoowledge of flexagons the farthest: https://www.youtube.com/user/vihart

Leave a Reply

