If I were a snowflake

If I were a snowflake, I would feel completely free of burden as I fell through the beautiful winter sky, towards the pure white city below. I would be filled with undimishing joy, a feeling that I wish would last forever. The wind would guide me onto the tip of the tongue of a giggling little girl, wearing a fuzzy coat powdered with snow and sugar., holding a half eaten cookie in her gloves. And as I melted into her tongue, I would feel so happy, living to let another person feel my joy.  

And this girl would grow up, and forget that drop on her tongue. One day she would have a rainy Christmas. And one day, she would learn in school a vocabulary word called “pollution”. And one day, she would learn about global warming, haze, and smoke. And one day, she would sit in bed, typing out an essay about what being a snowflake would feel like, if there even was such thing as a pure, clear, whole, snowflake. 

One thought on “If I were a snowflake

Leave a Reply

